Victorian Shipwreck Protected Zones

Protected zones are declared for nine fragile and highly significant historic Victorian shipwrecks.

Shipwreck protected zones map

It is an offence to enter, anchor, fish, trawl or dive in a protected zone without a permit. People found within a protected zone without a permit can be issued with on-the-spot fines of over $295 and multiple fines can be issued if more than one offence is detected. If prosecuted, people may be issued with fines of more than $7000.

The protected zones are (WGS 84):

HMVS Cerebus
0.5 h rectangle
-37.967382; 145.007876
SS City of Launceston
500 m radius
-38.076829; 144.826321
100 m radius
-38.202570; 144.723253
100 m radius
-38.207960; 144.730102
Will O' The Wisp
50 m radius
-38.241498; 144.701159
William Salthouse
250 m radius
-38.272943; 144.705493
SS Alert
500 m radius
-38.486944; 144.750556
PS Clonmel
50 m radius
-38.744000; 146.677800
SS Glenelg
500 m radius
-38.552400; 147.2074000

See the Victorian government web page Shipwreck protected zones for more details.

Other Shipwrecks

All shipwrecks 75 years and older are declared historic under State and Commonwealth legislation. Historic shipwrecks are fragile structures that often have weakened and vulnerable hull remains due to their long submersion underwater.

Anglers are allowed to fish near historic shipwreck sites that aren't in protected zones. However, anglers should be careful about placement of their anchors (and also weighted shot lines) because it is illegal to interfere with, damage or destroy historic shipwrecks and their relics and severe penalties apply.

The Scuba Doctor Service and Repairs